| Home |    | Set as Home Page |    | Add 2 Favorites |  

Pakistan is one of the biggest Muslim states in the world today. The country emerged out of the Indian sub-continent on the map of the world in 1947. The country has a majority of Muslim population. Pakistan celebrates its independence on the 14th of August every year.

The word 'Pakistan' has been coined from the names of those regions that make up this nation - Punjab, Afgan Border States, Kashmir, Sind and Baluchistan. Even after 1947, Pakistan remained a dominion for nine years. It was only on the 23rd of March, 1956, that the country was declared an Islamic Republic. East Pakistan broke away and proclaimed sovereignty of the Republic of Bangladesh in 1971.

Today, the nation comprises of the major provinces - Sind, Baluchistan, Punjab and the North West Frontier Province along with the Federal Capital and other tribal areas. The tribal areas coming under the the government of Pakistan are Khyber, Kurram, Malakand, Mohmand, North Waziristan and South Waziristan. The capital city of the country is 'Islamabad'.

Pakistan's Flag

01.The Pakistan Flag was designed by Ameer-ud-din Khidwai.
02.The white represents Minorities and the dark green field represents the Muslim majority.
03.The crescent on the Flag represents progress.
04.The five-rayed star represents light and knowledge.

Pakistan National Anthem                      Pakistan Provision                      Wallpapers

Copyright © 2006, All rights reserved.